Thomaston-Upson - Rotary Club
Club# 27172
DaCdb Login        Thomaston-Upson Club Website

Kretzmer, Thomas M. Dr
Office: 706-647-6608
Allen, Patricia
Koplan, David
Treasurer,iPast President
Jackson, Thomas J.
Office: 706-647-5551
Rotary Foundation Chair
Mangum, Sue
Office: 706-647-8111
Membership Chair
Powell, Michael
Zellner, Earnestine
Office: 706-647-8111 x 1456
Assistant Governor
(AREA 2 -)

Section 1 - Club Information:
Meeting Time:Tuesday at 12:15 PM
Meeting Place:1st & 2nd week each month: Thomaston Upson County Senior Center, 302 South Bethel, Thomaston GA 30286
Meeting City:Thomaston
Meeting Address:302 South Bethel St.
Meeting Directions:Driving Directions to Senior Center. From the East Traveling on Hwy 36 or Hwy 74 coming into Thomaston to a 5-way stop near Dollar Store. From 36, go straight to end of road, turn right and then almost immediately turn left by city-county government and Senior Center signs, then 2nd right to Senior Center. From Hwy 74, come to 5-way stop, turn left, go to end of road, turn right and almost immediately turn left by city-county government and Senior Center sign, then 2nd right to Senior Center. From the North Traveling on US 19S approaching downtown, turn left one block past square onto Lee St (see overhead sign, go two blocks, see signs on right for city-county government complex, turn right, then 2nd right
Link to Map Directions:
Club Description:

On July 27, 1989, Past District Governor Hal Barton, Griffin Club President Larry Stover, Sid Esary, Allen Marshall and Billy Reeves met following the regular noon meeting of the Griffin Rotary Club. Mr. Barton was the District Governor’s Special Representative and was charged with forming several new Rotary Clubs in the District. The purpose of his visit was to request assistance from the Griffin Rotary Club in forming a new club in the Pike and Upson county area.  The group agreed to consider the request and to meet again on August 10 after reviewing the requirements.

On August 10, 1989, the Griffin Rotary Club agreed to sponsor a new club.  The group became the Extension Committee, and Allen Marshall was elected chairman.  Both Pike and Upson counties were included in the initial area, and the committee set out in obtaining recommendations of potential members.

On October 12, 1989, Tom Wilkins and Martin Grizzard of Thomaston visited Griffin for another meeting with the Extension Committee. By this time, the committee had become convinced that a combined Upson-Pike club was unlikely. There was too much distance and too little in common between the two counties.  The committee agreed to concentrate its efforts in Thomaston and Upson County.

On November 21, 1989, the first meeting in Thomaston was held at 7 pm at the Golden Corral restaurant.  Attending from Thomaston were Billy E. Eubanks, Thomas Jackson, Martin Grizzard, T. Paige Holloway, Woody Miller, Eugene Williams, and Tom Wilkins.  PDG Hal Barton from Marietta also attended.  Attending from the Griffin Club were Sidney Esary, Allen Marshall, and Billy Reeves. The Thomaston members were requested to invite other prospective members to the next meeting.

The ninth meeting was held on February 19, 1990 in Thomaston at 12:30 pm at the Golden Corral restaurant.  Joining the regular extension committee members were new member Rosser Raines.  Upson County members included President Thom Wilkins, President- Elect Tom Jackson, Treasurer Carol Ford, Secretary Lucinda Bentley, Bill Elkins, Daniel Brinks, George Moore, Daniel Stevens, Mike Self, Carole Gibson, John Broadnax, Jane Harness, Steve Keadle, Charles McDaniel, Ron Nordan, JoAnn Hollstron, Greg Nossett, and Vivian Griffin.  Hal Barton presented the Club as a gift from District 6900 with an American Flag with a staff and stand. He also recommended that, with the number of regularly attending meetings, the Thomaston Group apply for provisional status as a Rotary Club.  The Griffin Rotary club agreed to pay the application fee of $1 per charter member as a gift to the Thomaston Club.  Chairman Allen Marshall presented the completed forms and a area map to Past District Governor Hal Barton.  The official name of the club was to be The Rotary Club of Thomaston-Upson County.

May 4, 1990, District Governor Fred P. Culbreth notified President Tom Wilkins that the Rotary Club of Thomaston-Upson County had been admitted into District 6900.

Charter Night was held at the Hotel Upson on June 13, 1990 with Tom Wilkins presiding. The invocation was given by Ronald Nordan, and Tom Jackson introduced visiting Rotarians. Guest included District Governor Fred Culbreth, PDG Hal Barton, Griffin Club President Larry Stover, and Extension Committee Chairman Allen Marshall.  Then Governor Culbreth presented Tom Wilkins with the so called lost Charter.  Tom explained that since the Iron Curtain had fallen, there was a mad dash to get new Charters made for new Rotary clubs starting in the eastern block countries; therefore, Rotary did not have the certificate ready for Charter Night.  Overall, Allen Marshall was extremely excited because he did not think it was possible to start a Rotary Club in Thomaston because of the strong presence of the Lions Club and the Kiwanis Club.


Charter Members


Donnie Basilici                                    Brenda Holston                                   Greg Nossett

Lucinda Bentley                                  Thomas Jackson                                James Reddick

Robert Braxton                                   Herbert Langland                                Katherine Robinson

Daniel Brinks                                       Larry Leigh                                          Richard Round

Johnnie Caldwell, Jr.                          Ricky Lomax                                      Michael Self

William Elkins                                      Charles McDaniel                               Richard Singer

Carol Ford                                           George Moore                                                Daniel Stevens

Carole Gibson                                     James Nalley, Jr.                                Richard Voss

Jane Harness                                      Ross Newton                                      Thomas Wilkins

Thomas Holloway                               Ronald Nordan                                    Terry Williams





President                     Thomas Wilkins

Vice President             Thomas Jackson

Secretary                    Lucinda Bentley

Treasurer                    Carol Ford

Sergeant-at-Arms       Thomas Holloway





Thomas Jackson

James Nalley, Jr.

David Stevens

Daniel Brinks

Link to Club Website:
Link to About US:
Link to Project URL:
Club Phone Number:706-647-5551
Club's Mailing Address:400 S Church Street,  Thomaston  GA  30286
Charter Date:13-Jun-90
Club CalendarDistrict CalendarClub BulletinNewsletters

Section 2: Club  Committee:
CommitteeCommittee TypeAction

Section 3: Club Members and Positions:
Member NameClassification / PositionBusiness Name
Allen, Patricia President-Elect 
Fletcher, Robert H. Member 
Jackson, Thomas J. Treasurer,iPast President 
Koplan, David SecretaryRetired 
Kretzmer, Thomas M. Dr (Tom) Optometric 
Mangum, Sue Rotary Foundation ChairUpson Regional Medical Center 
Pennington, Marian F 22Upson Regional Medical Center 
Powell, Michael Membership Chair 
Withrow, Janice Member 
Wood, Billie Member 
Zellner, Earnestine Sergeant-at-ArmsUpson Regional Med Center